Long Island begins “March to the Title” on Wednesday

(Central Islip, N.Y., Sept. 17, 2013) – The Long Island Ducks today held a team workout on the field at Bethpage Ballpark in preparation for their third consecutive postseason appearance. Players and coaches took part in defensive drills, bullpen sessions and batting practice before members of the media under bright sunshine and cool temperatures.

CLICK HERE to view a Facebook photo album

CLICK HERE to read a playoff preview from Newsday

CLICK HERE to view a story from News 12 Long Island

CLICK HERE to view a story from Verizon FiOS1 News

Ducks Manager Kevin Baez and Southern Maryland Blue Crabs Manager Patrick Osborn have both announced their roster and starting pitching rotations for the 2013 Liberty Division Championship Series. The best-of-five series will begin with Game One on Wednesday, September 18 at 6:35 p.m. from Bethpage Ballpark.

The following are the pitching match-ups and schedule for the Liberty Division Championship Series:

Game One: Wednesday, September 18 – 6:35 p.m. at Bethpage Ballpark
[SMD] RHP Gaby Hernandez (7-12, 4.29 ERA) vs. [LI] RHP John Brownell (9-10, 3.89 ERA)

Game Two: Thursday, September 19 – 6:35 p.m. at Bethpage Ballpark
[SMD] RHP Ian Marshall (12-8, 3.99 ERA) vs. [LI] RHP Shaun Garceau (2-1, 1.17 ERA)

Game Three: Friday, September 20 – 7:05 p.m. at Regency Furniture Stadium
[LI] RHP Bob Zimmermann (4-4, 4.46 ERA) vs. [SMD] LHP Logan Williamson (5-3, 3.65 ERA)

Game Four: Saturday, September 21 – 6:35 p.m. at Regency Furniture Stadium (if necessary)
[LI] RHP Bobby Blevins (1-1, 4.84 ERA) vs. [SMD] LHP Mike O’Connor (1-1, 3.60 ERA)

Game Five: Sunday, September 22 – 2:05 p.m. at Regency Furniture Stadium (if necessary)
[LI] TBD vs. [SMD] TBD

Long Island’s Liberty Division Championship Series roster will consist of 13 pitchers and 12 position players. Behind the plate, Ramon Castro and Ralph Henriquez will serve as the team’s catchers. Among the infielders will be Josh Barfield, Bill Hall, Dan Lyons, Ray Navarrete, Bryant Nelson and Ryan Strieby. Outfielders on the roster include Adam Bailey, Kraig Binick, Lew Ford and P.J. Phillips. Aside from the four scheduled starters, the bullpen will feature right-handers Derek Blacksher, Pete Budkevics, Nick DeBarr, Jared Lansford, Josh Lansford, Leo Rosales and Josh Strawn along with left-handers Daniel Herrera and Erick Threets.

Tickets for all potential Ducks postseason games are now on sale. Fans can purchase their tickets at the Bethpage Ballpark box office, by calling (631) 940-TIXX or by CLICKING HERE. Those unable to make it out to the ballpark can follow every playoff game either online or on the radio. Games One and Two can be seen and heard online, with video and audio available on the Ducks’ official YouTube channel, www.youtube.com/ducksbaseball and in the Ducks Video Center on www.liducks.com. Games Three through Five can be heard on the radio home of the Ducks, 103.9-FM WRCN, and online by CLICKING HERE. The broadcast team will feature Michael Polak, Chris King and David Weiss and Tom Felice.